Flying to Brazil

Introduction

São Paulo is the Brazilian hub for international airlines and thus will be the first stop for almost all participants. It is also possible to fly to some Brazilian capitals from Europe and also from the United States. However, it is advisable to take a flight direct to São Paulo.

Aeroporto Internacional de São Paulo/Guarulhos Governador André Franco Montoro, the international airport – also known as Cumbica Airport, is located 25km east of the center. It is also the main airport for domestic destination.

In the airport, the easier way to get to the hotel is to look for Guarucoop stand -http://www.guarucoop.com.br/, the only authorized company to carry passengers from Cumbica Airport. Please, be aware that in Brazil, you don’t need to tip a taxi driver at all – it isn’t expected. It will cost about R$ 150.00 to get to the hotel area – see accommodation for details. At the Guarucoop stand, please, inform the name of hotel.

You may also take a coach, operated by Airport Service (http://www.airportservice.com.br – only in Portuguese), to Av. Paulista (it will cost about R$ 40,00), close to the hotel area. From there, take a taxi. It will cost about R$ 40.00.

Most major airlines have offices on Av São Luís, near Praça da República.

Main Airports

Aeroporto Internacional de São Paulo/Guarulhos Governador André Franco Montoro (Cumbica) – GRU

Rod. Hélio Smidt, no number, Guarulhos (SP)
Telephone: (11) 6445-2945. www.infraero.gov.br
25 kilometers far from São Paulo downtown and it has common bus service and special bus service, by EMTU (Airport Service) – Telephone: (11) 2221-0244.

Aeroporto Doméstico de Congonhas – ONLY DOMESTIC FLIGHTS
Av. Washington Luís, no number, São Paulo (SP)
Telephone: (11) 5090-9000, www.infraero.gov.br 
It is the airport with the highest movement in South America. Only eight kilometers far from downtown and has a bus system to the city and a special service by EMTU (Airport Service) – Telephone: (11) 2221-0244.

 

Airlines that fly to São Paulo

TAM: www.tam.com.br

AZUL: www.voeazul.com.br

GOL: www.voegol.com.br

AVIANCA: www.avianca.com.br

Aeroméxico: www.aeromexico.com

AirCanada: www.aircanada.com.br

Air China: http://br.fly-airchina.com/po

Air Europa: www.aireuropa.com

Air France/KLM: www.airfrance.com.br,  www.klm.com.br

Alitalia: www.alitalia.com.br

British Airways: www.ba.com.br

China Airlines: www.china-airlines.com

Continental Airlines: www.continental.com

Copa Air: www.copaair.com

Delta Air Lines: www.delta.com

Emirates: www.emirates.com/br

Iberia: www.iberia.com.br

Japan Airlines: www.br.jal.com

Korean Airlines: www.koreanair.com

Lan: www.lan.com

Lufthansa: www.lufthansa.com

Qantas: www.qantas.com.au

Qatar Airways: www.qatarairways.com

Singapore Airlines: www.singaporeair.com

Swiss: www.swiss.com/brasil

Taca: www.taca.com

TAP: www.flytap.com.br

United Airlines: www.unitedairlines.com.br

US Airways: www.usairways.com